Kāwhia 2024

Coastal Restoration Trust Conference - Kāwhia 2024

Our 2024 conference was held at Maketū marae in Kāwhia on the west Waikato coast. Co-hosted by Onepu Charitable Trust and Te Taiao o Kāwhia Moana, the conference theme was Whatungarongaro te taangata, toituu te whenua/As man disappears from sight, the land remains.

The manākitanga, kai, speakers, workshops, field trips and sunrises were incredible. We had over 140 attendees and 80 stayed in the magnificent wharenui. A real privilege.

Here is our conference booklet.

Simon Hoyle and Janet Andrews of Southlight Studio, have created a video of our conference. In addition, there is a photo gallery and you are welcome to download and share any photos.


More presentations will be added shortly

Keynote speakers:

Professor Karin Bryan, Waikato University

The northwest wave climate and sediment process: implications for dune restoration


Dr Andrew Swales, NIWA Future Coasts Aotearoa

Dr Phoebe Stewart-Sinclair, NIWA Spatial opportunity for coastal blue carbon in Aotearoa, New Zealand

Akuhata Bailey-Winiata: Adaptation of pā to climate change: Business as usual and video

Marama Muru-Lanning, University of Auckland Listening to the Voices of our Harbours and video and notes

Graeme La Cock, CRT Trustee Projects update and project proposals

Horahaere Daisy Scott, Onepu Charitable Trust

Cate Ryan, CRT Scholarship Aerial insights to characterise and develop indicators of coastal active dune condition

Sanne Vaassen, Waikato University Numerical modeling of coastal wetlands

Zhanchao Shao, Waikato University Satellite and machine learning for monitoring our coastal environments

Regional Roundup:

Graham and Lyn Pearson, Castlecliff Coast Care

Arnim Littek, Manawatu Estuary Trust

Carl Morgan, Royal Forest & Bird Protection Society

Tansy Bliss, Pūkorokoro Miranda Naturalist Trust

Graeme La Cock, Two Minute Beach Clean

Betsy Young, Rarawa Beach: The impact of Gabrielle

David Lourie, Bream Bay Coastal Care Trust

Niels Leffelaar, Port Waikato Beach Care

Rusty Knutson, Bay of Plenty Regional Council

Waipaina Awarua - AgResearch

Angeline Greensill, Whaingaroa/Raglan Harbour and Notes

Tui Lewis Friends of Petone Beach


Te Toki Voyaging Trust

Taiea te Taiao, Ecological Corridor